Wildlife Rehabber Misidentification

New Post!

http://10000birds.com/wildlife-rehabber-misidentification.htm

34grnhrn.copy-2

About suziegilbert

I live in New York’s beautiful Hudson Valley and have been rehabbing birds for over twenty years. I’ve written a memoir about the slippery slope all rehabbers eventually slide down, called “Flyaway: How a Wild Bird Rehabber Sought Adventure and Found Her Wings,” published in 2009 by HarperCollins; and a children's book called "Hawk Hill," published in 1996 by Chronicle Books. I also write all kinds of freelance content. Please see my website, www.suziegilbert.com
This entry was posted in Birds and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wildlife Rehabber Misidentification

  1. Barb Stewart says:

    Many years ago, I called NYSDEC, having found what I believed was a newly dead peregrine falcon in my yard on Long Island. When the man arrived to retrieve it, he correctly identified it for me – northern bobwhite. I was not a birder at the time, but I believe that his gentle and informative explanation, as well as his guidance toward helpful resources, contributed to my interest in birding and conservation. All these decades later, I continue to remember him when I encounter anyone excited about even an erroneous identification. It could be the start if something wonderful, for that individual, as well as nature’s other creatures in need.

    • suziegilbert says:

      Hi Barb,
      This is a valid and valuable comment. I would say that nearly all rehabbers consider educating the public part of their job, and we all have stories about concerned people who have gone out of their way to help an injured or orphaned creature, even though they have no idea what it is. People who do this deserve respect and gratitude, and I have written many blogs (as well as a book, “Flyaway”) singing their praises. I do hope stories such as the ones in this particular blog don’t come off as mocking or condescending. Rehabbers go through hell and back, paying most of the bills out of their own pockets, because we love the creatures we take care of so much. Stories like these allow us to blow off steam, bond with each other, and laugh … and when you deal with life and death on a daily basis, a good laugh is always needed. I’m very glad the man you called at NYSDEC set you on your wildlife appreciation path.

Leave a Reply

